Country Profile



  • Independence date: May 14-15, 1811
  • Country name: Republic of Paraguay
  • Capital: Asuncion
  • Government type: Republic


  • Area: 406,750 km 2
  • Geographical Location : Located in the South American continent, its bordered by Bolivia to the North and Northeast; by Brazil to the East, and by Argentina to the South and West.
  • Climate: The climate in Paraguay can be distinguished in two seasons: a warm, rainy season with an average temperature of 31ºC to 38ºC, and predominant winds from the Northwest that bring a lot of rain to the country; and a cold, dry season, with little rain, predominant winds from the South, and an average temperature that ranges from 0ºC to 14.5ºC.
  • Organization of its territory : The Paraguay River divides the territory of the country in two great natural regions: the Oriental Region and the Occidental Region. Politically, the Paraguayan State is divided into a Capital District (the city of Asuncion ) and 17 departments.
  • Natural Resources: The country offers mainly water, hydro electrical, and forest resources, as well as, great agriculture and livestock raising opportunities. It also has reserves of natural gas and non-ferrous minerals.
  • Population Density : 14 hab/km 2
  • Languages that are spoken in the country: Spanish is the country's official language; the guarani, a language considered national patrimony, is also wildly spoken.
  • Currency: guarani (G) 6,180 = 1.00 US$


Executive Branch -Chief of State and Head of Government:


  • Population: 6.451.122 inhabitantes (Source: Dirección General de Estadística, Encuestas y Censos)
  • Urban Population: 56.1%
  • Rural Population: 43.1%
  • Population Growth: 2.3%
  • State divisions: Executive Power
  • Congress (2 Chambers), Judicial Power
  • Administrative divisions: 17 Departments
  • Elections: Every 5 years (last 2003)